Absurdly simple Mexican Crockpot Chicken

Do you ever have those morning that you know you’ll get home that day and you’ll be so tired that you won’t want to make dinner? Then that will turn into take-out or munching on a bag of salt and vinegar chips while vegetating in front of the TV. I know when I’m at school and get back from a long day of classes, followed by a long rehearsal, I don’t want to do anything much less cook a square meal. I can usually tell when it’s going to be that kind of day, so I try to pre-plan.
Enter: the crockpot. My crockpot is my very best friend on those kind of days. It saves me from falling into the “I’m too tired” trap.

This recipe is just about as easy as calling for take-out or taking the effort to open that bag. It’s much cheaper than take-out, much better for you than a bag of chips, and tastier than both combined. It’s perfect for college students and busy people alike.
I try my hardest to stay away from prepackaged foods as much as possible, but if you check the ingredients on the salsa can and make sure it only has normal ingredients (like tomatoes, onion, garlic, oregano, etc) then you should be okay. You do have to watch out for added sugar which the manufacturers like to add…for whatever unknown reason. Sometimes we just don’t have the time to do it all, so it’s good to have a stash of simple-ingredient staples, like salsa, at hand.
I think Mexican food is so homey, comforting, and tasty. I guess it’s my version of Mexican because I doubt a can of salsa would be used, but I don’t care. When you get home and smell that appetizing aroma of chicken slow cooking, you’ll thank me.

salsa chicken close up


Absurdly simple Mexican Crockpot Chicken
Serves 4 with leftovers

Ingredients:
-6 chicken tenderloins
-1/4 cup onion, chopped
-1 12 ounce can of salsa (really any kind will do)
-1 and 1/2 tablespoon taco seasoning
-1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
-1/4 teaspoon chilli powder
-Ground black pepper to taste
*if you like it spicier, feel free to add hot pepper flakes

Directions:
1. Add all of the ingredients into the crockpot, except the chicken, and stir. Nothing goes to waste, so pour a little water in your salsa jar and give it a good shake to get that all out of there and pour it into the crockpot.
2. Place the chicken inside and nestle it into the salsa mixture.
3. Cook for 6 hours on low, or on high for 3 hours.
(If using frozen chicken, cook it on low for a maximum of 8 hours and add 3/4-1 cup water to the mixture)
4. If you’re home, stir the mixture occasionally.
5. After the cooking time is up, take out the chicken and shred it. Then return it back to the crockpot, stir, and let cook for 5-15  more minutes. (While you’re waiting, you can go change into proper vegetating clothes.)

I like it on top of rice with lettuce, beans, and topped with a dollop of plain greek yogurt on top. Other possible add ons are shredded cheese, diced tomatoes, corn, and sauteed veggies. Or you can pour some of that chicken into a tortilla, load it up with toppings you have, and chow down. Simple, quick, and easy.


I always have leftovers, and I count on it. I use up the leftovers the next day, or freeze it in small quantities, for quesadillas, tacos, enchiladas, mexican quinoa salad..really anything. It’s so good just as it is even straight out of the bowl if you wanted to…

salsa chicken1

 

Told you that you would thank me 🙂

Until next time,

chels

“Life without Mexican food is like no life at all.” Unknown

 

What’s your favorite comfort food after a long day?

 

One thought on “Absurdly simple Mexican Crockpot Chicken

  1. Pingback: Homemade Taco Seasoning | the blueberry bin

Leave a Reply

