Homemade Taco Seasoning

Everybody loves tacos, right?
You can pile loads of toppings on that taco meat and either eat them in a crunchy shell or a soft tortilla (or both).. Most of the time my tacos are a little too piled and I end up eating them as crunchy shell nachos or with a knife and a fork. It would probably be much easier if I just put the tortilla on the side and ate my taco like a burrito bowl, but I digress.

Making taco meat is so easy, you just cook the meat in the pan, add pre-made taco seasoning and water then let it finish cooking. DONE.
Have you ever taken a second to look on the back of that taco seasoning bottle to find out what you are pouring all over your meat? No?
I did and I was baffled that it could be more than just the normal spices I have in my spice drawer. They put things like caramel coloring, corn meal (most likely GMO), sugar (what?), and some put dairy based powders in there.
Well, that just won’t do for me. So I decided to make my own and it’s so simple. You can make a huge batch, pour it in a spice bottle, and then you’re set for a good long while.
Now you can crunch down on that taco like nobody’s business! Success 🙂


Homemade Taco Seasoning:
Adapted from my Aunt’s recipe

Servings: About 3/4 cup

Ingredients:

-1/4 cup chili powder
-2 teaspoons garlic powder
-1 teaspoon onion powder
-1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
-2 teaspoons dried oregano
-2 teaspoons paprika
-2 tablespoons ground cumin
-1 tablespoon sea salt
-4 teaspoons ground black pepper
-1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions:

1. Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl.
2. Pour into a spice bottle.
3. You’re done…wasn’t that easy?

Obviously you don’t have to use the taco seasoning for only tacos. I use it in some of my chilli recipes, for enchilada meat, in my Crockpot Mexican Chicken, and even my Fiesta pasta bake (coming soon).

Now you don’t have to worry about where the natural and artificial flavors come from, you can just worry about how your going to eat that delicious taco. Hard shell or soft?

Until next time,

chels

“It’s not food if it arrived through the window of your car.” Michael Pollan

One thought on “Homemade Taco Seasoning

  1. Pingback: Absurdly simple Mexican Crockpot Chicken | the blueberry bin

Leave a Reply

