Peanut butter chocolate sauce

I used to hate chocolate and peanut butter. BLASPHEMY, I know. But now I absolutely loveee that combination. Reeses were a bit of a problem for a while because I couldn’t stop eating them. When I started to pay attention to what I put in my in my body, though, Reeses were not on the ‘okay’ list. That was a sad day.

My fellow peanut butter and chocolate lovers, you understand addiction to that combo and how difficult it would be to give it up. Well, I’ve found a quick fix for that undeniable craving for a Reeses. I discovered this from mixing some ingredients for an oatmeal recipe and was overjoyed  by the result. Literally overjoyed..I may have jumped for a joy a couple of times…
It only has 2 ingredients and takes a mere 30 seconds to make. A miracle you say?

peanut butter chocolate sauce

 

Mmmmm, look at that positively scrumptious peanut-y chocolate-y goodness….
The sauce is pictured here a-top my Minute Magic Muffin. But I have also poured it on pancakes, waffles, spread it on toast, and covered my oatmeal with it.


The Easiest Peanut butter Chocolate sauce in the whole world:

Ingredients:

-1 tablespoon creamy peanut butter
-1 teaspoon unsweetened, 100% cocoa powder

Directions:

1. Spoon the peanut butter into a small microwave-safe bowl. [5 seconds +]
2. Microwave for 20 seconds, then take out. It should be liquidy and move when you tilt the bowl. [20 seconds +]
3. Add in the cocoa powder and stir until completely incorporated. [5 seconds +]
4. Now pour over anything, or eat it out of the bowl 🙂 [=30 seconds]

I’m not even sure if this could be classified as a recipe since it’s so easy, but I thought all of you should share in the deliciousness with me 🙂
Ingredient Chalk-talk:

Peanut butter is a wonderful source of protein. It keeps you satisfied and when combined with a complex carb, like oatmeal, it can keep you feeling full even longer. 1 tablespoon of peanut butter equals the same amount of protein as 1 ounce of meat. It contains Vitamin E (a super antioxidant), magnesium (which builds bones), potassium (cramp reliever), and Vitamin B6 (immune system builder.) Peanut butter may also reduce the risk for heart disease. Make sure you look at those labels! Many companies, like those that rhyme with Pif and Meter Man, include ingredients like sugar (totally unneeded), hydrogenated vegetable oils, and loads of salt. Look for peanut butter that only contains peanut butter (it will probably have salt)…I personally think the 1 ingredient nut butter tastes better than the GMO/chemical ridden impostor.
It contains monounsaturated fat, which has been shown to produce healthy blood lipid levels. So it’s the good kind of fat!
Did you know that peanuts are classified as a legume? I sure didn’t.

100% Unsweetened Cocoa powder has been used for centuries for various purposes. Though we are used to cocoa powder being paired with heaps of sugar, ancient civilizations used to boil water and drink it, basically, like black coffee. Unsweetened cocoa powder is one of the highest antioxodant foods available for our consumption. As you may have read from my previous posts,  antioxidants fight free radicals formed from oxidarion of our cells. This  byproduct of oxidation can cause many diseases, like cardiovascular disease and osteoporosis,  which may be prevented by high consumption of antioxidants

What’s your favorite candy?

Until next time,

chels

“There is nothing peanut butter and a spoon can’t fix.” Very wise unknown

2 thoughts on “Peanut butter chocolate sauce

  1. Pingback: Healthy, Happy, Homemade Pop Tarts | the blueberry bin

  2. Pingback: Short-stack Sundays: Banana Bread pancakes | the blueberry bin

Leave a Reply

