Deep Dark Chocolate Cake

So it was my birthday on Saturday and it was ah-mazing. I never like to have big birthday celebrations, probably due to the fact that I’m a homebody who doesn’t like to be the center of attention. Anyway, it was absolutely perfect!

I  had breakfast at this little beach cafe (it’s literally part of the boardwalk next to the beach) with my family. It was so GOOD. I got to hear the waves, feel the ocean breeze, and look out at nothing but endless sea while in the best company possible.
Then we went for a long walk by the water, did some shelling, took pictures, basked in the sun. AH, sweet perfection.
When we got home it was lunch time, but we were all still ridiculously full from breakfast. Therefore, my mom and I did the only sensible thing to do…we went shopping. TAX FREE WEEKEND, y’all! I do love a good bargain 🙂

For lunch: cake. Hey, it’s my birthday and that’s what I wanted. I feel like that is definitely an acceptable meal on one’s birthday. I sort of just threw caution to the wind because I certainly don’t celebrate my birthday every day!
Back to the cake. It’s my favorite cake (in the whole world) that my mother, the ever-fantastic-baker, made for me ❤

It is fudge-y, chocolate-y, gloriously delicious, birthday-perfection. I’m drooling just thinking about it.
It has so much flavor, and so much depth. The combination of chocolate and espresso is one of the finest inventions on Earth, if I may say so myself. This cake is like the love child between a decadent fudge brownie and fluffy chocolate cake.

You may be chastising me in your mind “I thought this was a healthy food blog.” You would be correct, it most certainly is. And would I ever lead you astray? Most certainly not! This cake is what I deem a “healthy cake.” However, it is not sugar, dairy, or gluten free, but it is pretty darn healthy as far as cake goes! So do read on and brace yourself to behold the perfection that is this cake.

Deep dark chocolate cake candle


Deep Dark Chocolate Cake
Adapted from Cook’s Illustrated

Ingredients:

-1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
-1/2 cup coconut sugar
-1/2 teaspoon baking soda
-1/4 teaspoon table salt
-1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (make sure it is 100% cocoa)*
-2 ounces (soy lecithin free) bittersweet chocolate, chopped**
-1 teaspoon espresso powder
-1 cup of hot coffee
-2/3 cup plain greek yogurt
-1 large egg, whisked
-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
-1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
optional: chocolate chips, walnut pieces

Directions:

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Spray an 8 inch square baking pan with non stick cooking spray.
2. Mix your hot coffee, espresso powder, and the chopped chocolate together. Stir it until it is well incorporated and melted. Set aside to cool.
3. In a large bowl, mix the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt together.
4. In another bowl, whisk the eggs, greek yogurt, and vanilla extract until completely mixed.
5. Pour the cooled chocolate-coffee mixture very slowly into the greek yogurt mixture and whisk.
6. Mix the liquid bowl ingredients into the dry bowl ingredient until completely combined. Now is when you would mix in any add-ins.
7. Pour your batter into the sprayed baking pan.
8. Bake for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out of the center cleanly.
9. Overturn gently onto a wire rack and let cool.
10. ENJOY YOUR CAKE
I like mine sprinkled with powdered sugar, it doesn’t really need any icing.

*For the unsweetened cocoa powder I use Nestle Toll House unsweetened cocoa because a lot of companies put other things in there besides cocoa powder.
**I use Nestle Toll House Dark chocolate morsels because they are the only chocolate chips I have found that don’t have soy lecithin in them.

I often make these as cupcakes because they freeze so well! Just pour the batter into sprayed muffin tins and bake for 15-18 minutes, instead. Then let cool. Freeze them so you can eat them whenever! You can pop one in the microwave for 30 seconds and have your own personal healthy little cake.


Deep dark chocolate cake close

This cake is perfect for any occasion. A birthday, a dinner party, a Monday 😉

It is so rich, chocolate-y, and positively delectable…no one will be the wiser of its stealthy healthfulness.

Deep dark chocolate cake real angle

What did you do for your favorite birthday day?

Until next time,

chels

“Birthdays are natures way of telling us to eat more cake.” the internet (oh so wise)

Leave a Reply

