Homemade Applesauce (a.k.a awesome-sauce)

Summer vacation.

Filled with sunshine, ocean waves, sleeping in, making food, diy-ing, camping trips, book reading, thrifting, recipe making, family game nights, and general bliss. Something so wonderful must come to an inevitable close, I guess. I will be back to the daily college grind far too soon for my own liking. I DON’T WANNA.

I’m now currently in a scramble to create, make, and bake as many things as I possibly can before I go back..since, ya know, classes take away my free time. One of my favorite things to eat is…drum roll please…….homemade applesauce. TADA! Impressed? Well, you should be. That’s some fine tasting sauce. And it’s so ridiculously easy to make I can hardly call it a recipe..but I will anyway 🙂 It’s really simple; I’m not really sure why I don’t make it more often when I’m at school. The most time consuming part of the recipe is peeling the apples which can be fun if you like to eat apple peels…just me?

Once you’ve had applesauce, of the homemade variety, there’s no going back. Yes, I know that applesauce is pretty cheap to buy at the store. But if you look on the back of that nice lookin’ jar on the shelf, you will see that many brands add ingredients that are totally unnecessary, plus if I make it myself I’ll know how it’s handled/made. *cough-controlfreak-cough* For some reason, commercial applesauce makers like to pour in sugar, but apples are sweet all by themselves… This recipe has no added sugar and contains 4 (yes only 4!)
ingredients!
That being said let’s commence with the applesauce making!

Homemade Applesauce

Homemade Applesauce (aka Awesome-sauce)

 Ingredients:

-5 medium Red apples-cored, peeled and chopped
-2 cups of water
-1 teaspoon Lime juice
-Ground Cinnamon, to taste

Directions:

1. Core your apples.Then peel and chop them into small chunks.
2. Pour your peeled apple chunks into a pot. Then pour in the water and the lime juice.
*You may need more water depending on the size of your apples. The water should be just below the top of line where the apples are highest in the pot.*
3. Bring to a boil and then let simmer. Add the ground cinnamon. Stir occasionally.
4. When much of the liquid is gone your apples should be pretty mushy. Remove from heat and let cool.
5. You can mash them with a masher or use an immersion blender (to make is smooth.)
6. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator


See? I told you it was super simple. Now go forth and make some awesome-sauce! Take back your right to eat healthy, nothing-weird-added, delicious applesauce.
I loveeeee it with grilled pork chops.Trust me.

Homemade Applesauce

 

The Ingredient List links:
Apples
Cinnamon

I hope you had a great summer vacation and are ready for school to start. It’s going to be a great year. Positive thinking, guys.

 

What’s your favorite way to use/eat applesauce?

Until next time,

chels

“Be a fruit loop in a world full of cheerios.” Some wise soul

Leave a Reply

