Grilled Thai Peanut Chicken and Veggie Fried Quinoa

I’m sorry I have been gone for so long. All of my classes decided to have exams at the same time. Isn’t that always how it works though. When it rains it pours, right? I’ve missed blogging so much, but was always so tired and too stressed. I just couldn’t sit down and write something worth reading. But never fear, I am here 🙂
I am almost done with the chaos for the time being. And I was in serious need of a study break, so why not post?

An ode to peanut butter:

Peanut butter, oh peanut butter/
Where are thou/
oh, thou are right next to me/
and I have a spoon/
how convenient.

My brain is basically a mushy mass of unrelated, crazy thoughts. Don’t judge me.

I love peanut butter. I eat it with everything. Apples, celery, popcorn, toast, crackers, bagels, oatmeal, pancakes, cookies, cereal, rice cakes, and (of course) on a spoon. Is it just me or is one spoonful just not enough? I can’t ever stop at one. I can stop at one chip, I can stop at one cookie, but I can never stop at one spoonful of peanut butter. Since I’ve gotten to school (which is now a little over a month) I have eaten three [and a half], yes THREE, family size jars of peanut butter. That may be a record. I’ll have to check on that.

If you feel like it’s time for an intervention, I would not argue with you. Instead I would agree with you, sneak to my room, and take my peanut butter (that I’m hoarding) and run for it.

*Hello, my name is Chelsea and I am completely addicted to peanut butter.*

-Anyway-
I was craving peanut butter [surprise] but it was dinner time and I wouldn’t want to ruin my appetite now would I? So I combined my craving of peanut butter with dinner. This Thai Peanut Chicken is SO good and easy. The sauce is literally 4 (ish) ingredients and takes 2 minutes. Pair it with my veggie fried quinoa and you have one tasty, hunger-quenching dinner.

This is one of my favorite meals to make because it is ridiculously easy and it SO DARN DELICIOUS. You’ll just have to try it out and see for yourself!

Thai chicken and veggie fried quinoa


Grilled Thai Peanut Chicken with Veggie Fried Quinoa
Serves 1 (but is easily doubled, tripled, or quadrupled)

Ingredients:

Chicken & Sauce
-1-2 chicken tenderloins
sauce:
-1 tablespoon creamy peanut butter
-1/2 tablespoon lime juice
-a pinch of ground ginger
-sprinkle of  garlic powder
-1/4 teaspoon water
-ground pepper

Veggie Fried Quinoa
-1/4 cup uncooked white quinoa, rinsed and drained
-1/2 cup water
*or use cold leftover quinoa*
-tamari
-garlic powder
-black pepper
-At least 1 cup of veggies (I use a lot more but I’m a vegetable fiend)
such as: onion, sliced zucchini, corn, steamed brussel sprouts/broccoli/carrots, sweet peppers, bean srpouts, and mushrooms

Directions:

1. Place rinsed quinoa into a small pot and add the water. Bring to a boil. When boiling, cover and bring down to a simmer. Let simmer for 15 minutes then take off heat. Let it sit with the lid on.
2. While the quinoa is cooking, chop your veggies to desired sized.
3. Heat a pan over medium heat. When hot, pour a little bit of extra virgin olive oil into it and pour in all the vegetables. Saute all of them until cooked, about 10 – 15 minutes. Make sure you keep flipping them.
4. Heat your grill. While your veggies are cooking, make your thai peanut sauce. Mix all of the sauce ingredients together and whisk with a fork until smooth.
5. Your quinoa should be off heat by now and your veggies cooked. Grill your chicken until cooked through.
6. Take a sauce brush-y thing (technical kitchen term) and brush the thai peanut sauce on the chicken. Brush both sides and let it grill.
7. Heat your pan with the veggies again over medium-high heat. Add in the cooked quinoa and stir it up for about 4 minutes.
8. Sprinkle garlic powder and black pepper, to taste, onto the veggie-quinoa mixture. Remove from heat and pour in your tamari. *I put about a tablespoon* Stir it all up until everything is well coated.
9. Pour into a big bowl and top with your Thai peanut chicken!


This was a super filling and crazy delicious dinner. It filled me with tons of energy and I was ready to stick my nose back in my books. I can deal with studying if I get to eat like this:)

Thai chicken and veggie fried quinoa  bowl

The Veggie Fried Quinoa is a great way to use up vegetables! It’s a lot like fried rice just with tamari (which is way better for you) and whole truck load of veggies. It pairs beautifully with the Grilled Thai peanut chicken, really giving it that asian flare. Here’s a nice close up of that delicious quinoa!

Thai chicken and veggie fried quinoa-closeup

Just look at that delicious Thai peanut chicken resting on top of that fantastic mountain of vegetables and seasoned quinoa. 🙂
Go forth and make this masterpiece. Your tastebuds will thank you for it!

The Ingredient List links:

Tamari
-Chicken
-Peanut Butter
-Ginger

Until next time,

chels

I won’t be impressed with technology until I can download food.”

One thought on “Grilled Thai Peanut Chicken and Veggie Fried Quinoa

  1. Pingback: PB&J mugfin | the blueberry bin

Leave a Reply

