Chia seed jam: Strawberry and Blueberry

Have you every been jammin’ at work to your favorite tunes and someone walks in? It’s awkward. I have a summer job where I work in an office all by my lonesome, so I play music to help pass the time.
I was playing some Paolo Nutini (if you don’t know who that is, go look up his music ❤ ) and my favorite part came on. Naturally, I started dancing while taking a file to the filing cabinet…and someone walked in. They stared. Oh the awkward, it burns. I guess that all comes with the territory of being a great dancer…HA. When I was contemplating the jam session, I got to thinking. (Never a good thing) Somehow, my brain made a leap from jammin’ out to ‘New Shoes’ to actual jam. Yes, my brain works in strange and mysterious ways. It baffles even me sometimes. ANYWAY. I was thinking about how I never get to make jam when I’m at school because it takes forever with all that mashing, boiling, sterilizing, and waiting. Patience is a virtue I lack. After some research on the internet I saw lots of people talking about chia seed jam. pure. genius. I decided to just wing it and try to make it on the fly. IT’S SO GOOD. Blend. Let sit. Eat. both jams Adapted from several internet posts


Strawberry Chia Seed Jam
Ingredients:
-1 1/2 cup strawberries
-1 teaspoon chia seeds
-sweetener, to taste
Directions:
1. Wash and hull (take the leaves off) the strawberries.
2. Blend them in a blender and add in chia seeds
3. Put in the refrigerator and let sit for 20 minutes, or until thick
*I, personally, don’t like my jam sweet but you can always add in a bit of honey for sweetness.

strawberry jam

Blueberry Chia Seed Jam

Ingredients:
-1/2 cup blueberries
-1 teaspoon chia seeds
-sweeten, to taste
Directions:
1. Wash the blueberries.
2. Blend them in a blender and add in chia seeds
3. Put in the refrigerator and let sit for 20 minutes, or until thickpop tart 011

Note: For both, if you jam is too thick add a little bit of water and if it is too thin add chia seeds! I absolutely love this jam. It tastes so fresh and natural. I use it in my Pop tarts, on toast, bagels, in oatmeal…the possibilities are endless!
Enjoy your jam and spontaneous jammin’
What’s your favorite flavor jam?

Until next time,
chels
“People who love to eat are always the best people.” Julia Childs

One thought on “Chia seed jam: Strawberry and Blueberry

  1. Pingback: Healthy, Happy, Homemade Pop Tarts | the blueberry bin

Leave a Reply

