Short-stack Sundays: Banana Bread pancakes

There is nothing quite like ending a happy/relaxing/lazy Sunday with a stack of fresh, hot, homemade pancakes. Since I started college (three years ago now..ohmygosh) I have made pancakes every weekend. And not for breakfast.

I never (except camping) eat pancakes for breakfast. I think it’s because my family likes to have breakfast for dinner more than we like breakfast for breakfast. If you think about it makes sense…

If you’re going to eat a big breakfast you:
1) want to be able to eat as much of it as you can
2) don’t have the energy to make it in the morning (at least I don’t)
3) don’t have the time to make this feast before running out the door for work/school/errands.

Solution? Brinner or dinfest. Breakfast4Dinner.

Let’s break down the word. Pancakes: essentially cakes cooked flat in a pan; therefore, acceptable to eat as a meal. I am most certainly okay with that and let’s be honest..who doesn’t like pancakes?!

My mom makes some mean (as in crazy delicious) pancakes. So I took her recipe and created a ton of variations. Wouldn’t want to have the same type of pancakes two weekends in a row, now would I? That would be preposterous. Through these weekends, (filled with a lot of trial and error) I have come up with quite a few pancake recipes that I will share with you as time goes on.

I thought it would be appropriate to make a “Short-stack Sundays” series since that’s when I usually eat them..and eat them often, I do. (Yoda…what?)

So we will start the series off with…drum roll….Banana Bread Pancakes!!!
~I told you I was addicted to bananas–see the explanation~Banana bread pancakes


Banana Bread Pancakes
Makes about 12-16 (depending how big you make them)

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup unbleached bread flour
– 1/3 cup quick oats
-1/2 cup whole wheat flour
-1 tablespoon coconut sugar (to taste)
-1 tablespoon baking powder (aluminum-free)
-1/4 teaspoon salt
-1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
-1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
-1 tablespoon flax meal
-2 teaspoons chia seeds
-1 egg, beaten
-1 1/4 cup almond milk
-3/4 cup mashed banana
Optional: 
-chopped walnuts (I use a lot)

Directions:

1. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.
2. Mix all wet ingredients together in a separate bowl.
3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and whisk.
4. Let the batter sit for 5 minutes.
5. While it is resting, heat a large pan over medium heat.
6. Spray your pan with non stick cooking spray and pour 2 tablespoons full onto the heated pan.
7. Put your oven on the ‘Keep warm’ setting.
8. Flip the pancake when the bottom is golden brown and top is bubbling/looks a bit dry.
9. Put finished pancakes on a plate and put in the warm oven.
10. Repeat until all of your batter turns into pancakes.
11. Enjoy your banana bread pancakes warm!


Banana bread pancakes.

These are some of my favorite pancakes that I have made so far. They really remind me of banana bread. They are fluffy, warm, full of banana, cinnamon, and walnuts. I top these with more walnuts, some 100% pure maple syrup (i.e. sugar…remember moderation is our friend!), or my chocolate peanut butter sauce! I usually make a HUGE batch and freeze them so when I get home really late I can just pop them in the microwave or the toaster and have a delicious brinner 🙂 They are way better than any box mix you can find and a whole lot better for you!

Banana bread pancakes!

The Ingredient list links:

-Banana
-Cinnamon
-Chia seeds

-Flax Meal
-Oats

Until next time,

chels

“Keep calm and pancake on”

One thought on “Short-stack Sundays: Banana Bread pancakes

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin spice latte oatmeal | the blueberry bin

Leave a Reply

