Peanut Butter Quinoa Bowl

Happy weekend everyone! These past two years of college weekends were never exciting because I would spend all day doing homework. This year I decided to stop (sort of) being such a workaholic and do some fun things on the weekends. I went rock climbing today! They have all of these activities for free with my college ID: rock climbing, water skiing, kayaking, disc golf, sailing…how did I not know about this? Oh yeah…I was holed up in my room…

I am currently trying to put more balance in every aspect of my life: food, work, fun, and so on. Stressing is so not worth it. You only live once, so why not make the most of it?
So back to my adventures of conquering the wall. Rock climbing is hard and rigorous (at least it is to me, since I have 0% body strength), but oh-my-goodness it was SO much fun. I took me a while to actually get up the wall, but I felt good about making it to the top both times I climbed! It helped that my belay guy was cute; motivation?
Well, this morning I decided if I was going to ‘work out’ I needed a good, filling, nutritious breakfast. To me that = peanut butter. Peanut butter keeps me feeling full for hours and satisfies even my most vicious hunger pangs. Combine PB with quinoa and you have a super protein-filled breakfast; ready for anything. So I concocted this breakfast beauty. Behold the perfect rock climbing, hunger quenching breakfast!

peanut butter quinoa


Peanut Butter Quinoa Bowl
Serves 1

Ingredients:

-1/4 cup dry quinoa or 1/2 cup pre-cooked quinoa
-1 tablespoon creamy peanut butter
-2 tablespoons almond milk
-1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
-1 teaspoon ground flax

Directions:

1. Cook your quinoa (or use your pre-cooked quinoa.)
2. Pour in the peanut butter, cinnamon, almond milk and ground flax.
3. Mix all of the ingredients together very well.
4. Microwave for 30 seconds to 1 minute (until hot.) Top with strawberries (or any fruit) and enjoy!


It’s super quick and easy if you already have your quinoa cooked. And even if you don’t, just go finish getting ready for the day and your quinoa will be cooked. Add the other ingredients and mix. Easy as pie? Is pie easy? I never fully understood that phrase..

peanut butter quinoa

 

This is definitely a go-to meal when I know I will be out and actively being adventurous for a few hours..or just a normal adventurous day of class:)

Hope you have a fantastic labor day weekend!

Ingredients list links:

Quinoa
Peanut Butter

peanut butter quinoa bowl

What adventurous things do you like to do?

Until next time,

chels

“There is nothing peanut butter and a spoon can’t fix.”

 

Leave a Reply

